What is Gluten Free Diet? | SaralStudy.com
Home Board Paper Solutions Text Book Solutions Articles NCERT Exemplar Solutions
Home >> Articles >> Health >> What is Gluten Free Diet?

What is Gluten Free Diet?

Posted On 2013-10-04

What is Gluten Free Diet?

Gluten is a protein complex found in wheat, barley and rye. Gluten can be harmful to people with gluten allergies or those with celiac disease, which is a condition that can cause damage to the intestine when gluten is consumed. Such people are recommended a gluten-free diet. Here’s a checklist of do’s and don’ts for people who are looking for a gluten free diet.


• Red Flag Ingredients: While buying groceries from the general store, go through the ingredients section. Avoid products that include ingredients such as ‘malt’ and ‘hydrolised vegetable protein’.


• Avoid breads: Avoid white, wheat, marble and rye breads. Say goodbye to bagel, croissants, muffins, pizzas, buns and scones. However, you can find gluten free substitutes for these items these days at the general store. The products are usually made of rice or potato flour and can be eaten by celiac disease patients.


• Choose your cereal carefully: Most cereals are made of wheat and hence are not suitable for people on a gluten free diet. Check the ingredients panel and avoid cereals that contain wheat or its derivatives. You can substitute your morning meal with corn and rice cereal which are filling as well as nutritious.


• Say no to Pasta: Whichever form or shape it is in, pasta cannot be consumed by people on a gluten-free diet. Switch to a diet of rice and potato instead as it is filling and nutritious.


• Quit Beer: Most beers are prepared from barley malt. This can be harmful for those on a gluten free diet. Switch to wine to still celebrate with a toast when you have to.

Write a Comment: