Chapter 9 Reproduction in Animals

  • Animals can reproduce by two modes:

Sexual reproduction and asexual reproduction

  • The fusion of male and female gametes fuses to form a zygote and then make an offspring and this process is known as sexual reproduction.
  • Ovaries, oviducts and uterus are the female reproductive organs.
  • Testis, sperm ducts and penis are the male reproductive organs.
  • Female gamete is produced by ovary which is called as ova and the male gamete is produced by testis called sperms.
  • The fusion of male and female gamete is called fertilization.
  • Zygote is the fertilized egg.
  • Fertilization takes place inside the female body is called as internal fertilization.
  • Fertilization that takes place outside the female body is known as external fertilization. Mainly occurs in frog, fish etc.
  • Zygote divide in a repeating manner to give rise to an embryo.
  • Foetus is the stage of embryo in which all body parts are identifiable.
  • Viviparous animals are those who give birth to their young one. For example: humans.
  • Oviparous animals are those which lay eggs.
  • Through drastic changes; the transformation of larva into adults is called metamorphosis.
  • The type of reproduction in which only a single parent is involved is called asexual reproduction.
  • Binary fission is the type of asexual reproduction which generally occur in amoeba, it reproduces by dividing itself into two. 

Download pdf of NCERT Solutions for Class Science Chapter 9 Reproduction in Animals

Download pdf of NCERT Examplar with Solutions for Class Science Chapter 9 Reproduction in Animals

Exercise 1 ( Page No. : 113 )

Exercise 50

  • Q1 Give the full form of IVF.

    In Vitro Fertilisation

    Q2 How are test tube babies born?

    Test tube babies are born through IVF technique.

    Q3 How is an embryo developed?

    As a result of fertilisation zygote is formed which begins to develop into an embryo. The zygote divides repeatedly to give rise to a ball of cells. The cells then begin to form groups that develop into different tissues & organs of the body. This developing Structure is called an embryo. The embryo gets embedded in the wall of the uterus for further development.

    Q4 Explain briefly the life cycle of a frog.

    There are mainly three distinct stages:

            Egg    Tadpole (larva)  →  Adultes 

    Tadpole look different from the but after sometimes  tadpoles converted are into an frog.

    In frogs, the gills of tadpoles are replaced by lungs in adults.

    Q5 How are babies produced through IVF technique? What are such babies called?

    "IVF” is an artificial type of fertilization. Some  women's Oviducts are blocked. These women are unable to bear babies because sperms can't reach the egg for fertilisation 

    In such cases, doctors collect Freshly released eggs, sperms & keep them together for few hours for IVF. In case fertilisation occurs, the zygote is allowed to develop for about a week & then it is placed in the mother's uterus .Complete development takes place in the uterus & the baby is born like any other baby Babies born through this technique are called test tube babies.

Recently Viewed Questions of Class 8 Science