Question 6

Define a taxon. Give some examples of taxa at different hierarchical levels.


Each unit or category of classification is termed as a taxon. It represents a rank. For example, the basic level of classification is species, followed by genus, family, order, class, phylum or division, in ascending order. The highest level of classification is known as kingdom. So each of these categories can be called as a taxon.

Phylum/Division Class Order Family Genus Species
1. Seed Plant Flowering Plant Yeast Orchid Citrus Banyan
2. Green Alga Fern Mushroom Grass  Eucalyptus Neem
3. Flatworm Insect Spider Bear Crow Tiger
4. Roundworm Bird Lizard Elephant Wolf Dog


10 Comment(s) on this Question

Write a Comment: